The question that frustrates me

Nubian Queens

“Embrace what makes you unique, even if it makes others uncomfortable” Janelle Monae- Black Girls Rock 2012

This post isn’t going to be about all I think about natural hair and the politics surrounding it (that’s for later!), but rather just one aspect of having it that frustrates the hell out of me…

It was a couple of years ago, around my 16th birthday. I went natural by doing the big cut. I cut it alllllll off (well nearly all..) Before this mega-big decision, my fellow black church people always complimented me on my long (relaxed) hair.

22257_295514041776_3585082_

180096_195008213856382_1131416_n-001So, when I chopped it all off, they were like “WHAT ARE YOU DOOOOOING?!?” It seemed the people around me mourned my lost hair more than I did!

As I went on, I experimented with my hair- I did twists, I did twist outs, I did bantu knots and of course…

View original post 124 more words

Leave a Reply

